A Taste of NYC: Boulud Sud

I recently got a new job so I’m in that 2 weeks notice period. This means finishing up projects, wasting time at work, and trying to use up all of my PTO. Since the sister also has PTO to spare we decided to take a day off together to enjoy some fancy lunch, relaxing, and shopping. For lunch we decided to go to a great Mediterranean place, Boulud Sud for the prix fixe. The appetizers and entrees were delicious, but the dessert wasn’t the best.

I started with the Selection of Bielles Cured Meats including Housemade Pickles and Grilled Ciabatta.

20130624-165116.jpg

Followed by one of my favorite foods: scallops. To be more precise, it was the Maine Diver Sea Scallops with Artichoke, Celery, and Arugula Salad. The scallops were perfect and it was so nice to have a refreshing summer salad.

20130624-165128.jpg

I finished off with the Chocolate-Lime Entremet with Lime Crémeux and Cocoa Sorbet. I have to admit that the Cocoa Sorbet was excellent.

20130624-165138.jpg

The sister began with the Mediterranean Mezze with Herb Falafel, Spring Pea Hummus, Babaganoush, and Lavash. The best part were the Herb Falafels.

20130624-165122.jpg

Next for her was the Tuscan Style Bavette Steak with Broccoli Rabe and Crushed Potatoes. It was good steak, but not the best I’ve had. I did love the crushed potatoes and plan to try to make it one day.

20130624-165133.jpg

She finished off with the Housemade Crèmes Glacées with features the chef’s daily ice cream selections: Cacao, Grapefruit, and Mango. The grapefruit was the most surprising flavor because it was just sweet, with no sour grapefruit taste. Like my dessert, my favorite part was the Cacao Ice Cream (I’m a sucker for chocolate).

20130624-165143.jpg

The parents (and doggie) are coming to town soon so that should mean a lot of yummy meals and posts!

Leave a comment