A Glimpse of NYC: Sleep No More

As I mentioned (here), after having an Argentinian dinner my friend and I went to see Sleep no More. Just a little background on the show, it’s a take on the story of MacBeth. The story takes place during the 1920’s in what feels like an old abandoned hotel.

Once you get in, they require you to check-in any purses/bags and it’s recommended to also give up your coats/scarves (give them everything you have because it’s really hot and you want to be able to run around). Unfortunately, I didn’t get to take any pictures except of after the show. We got into a lounge area and got a couple of drinks while we waited for our number. Once we were called, we were given white masks and then set loose.

I don’t think I’ll ever be able to describe it but it was really just running around following characters and exploring the hotel. Just a little taste of what you can see includes a graveyard/forest along with a ballroom on the first floor. The third floor includes a creepy hospital and the fourth floor includes old bedrooms with torn up papers. I spent about 2.5 hours running around in the dark and the time just flew by! Also, don’t plan on staying with your group/friends if you want the best experience. Just choose some times to meet up in the lounge area and bring watches. I would recommend this show to everyone, I plan to go back to follow around new characters!

20130329-113411.jpg

sleep no more masks

20130329-113421.jpg

close-up of our masks

Leave a comment